top of page

McNamara commits to Ohio University


Colin McNamara has recently decided to continue his academic and athletic career at Ohio University. McNamara has been a three sport athlete all of his high school athletic career. These three sports consisted of football, wrestling and baseball, all of which he was a significant contributor to.

With two successful seasons of football and wrestling, McNamara found himself torn with what sport he wanted to continue in college-having great opportunities in both. After long consideration McNamara chose to continue his wrestling career in the Division I program at Ohio University.

Senior Colin McNamara explains, “I was pretty stressed when deciding what sport I wanted to play. I knew I had great success in both football and wrestling, but when it came down to it I felt like giving OU and wrestling a shot would be most beneficial to me. I will miss playing football, but I’m excited to see what I can do in the sport of wrestling.”

McNamara had an extremely successful season with Aurora Greenmen wrestling this year. McNamara ended his high school career with 122 wins, a 3x sectional champ, a 2x state qualifier and a State Finalist (195 lbs).

Wrestler Colin McNamara states , “ I think I hit my groove in wrestling just at the right time. I think this factor also helped me make my decision towards wrestling at OU.”

Next year as McNamara takes on Ohio University he will be expected to come in with the mindset that he could start at 184/197 weight class. Depending on how that looks for him will decide if he will redshirt or not. However, McNamara simply wants to help the team in any way he sees fit, while also enjoying his college experience.

McNamara emphasizes, “ I am super excited to be down at OU. A lot of my friends will be there, but at the same time I will be spending a lot of time with classes and wrestling. I am super excited though because this is the first time I truly will be on my own, and it will be a new experience for me.”

All in all, to no one’s surprise senior athlete Colin McNamara is going to do big things in his future. I highly encourage you to keep an eye out for what will come his way as he takes on Ohio University next fall.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page