top of page

A Piece of Cake


I recently read the memoir, A Piece of Cake by Cupcake Brown for my self-select book in English. Being someone who doesn’t read often, I picked a book with pretty colors on the cover that sounded good. I was drawn to it because of the vibrant sprinkles that fill the cover. When I started reading the book over spring break, I could barely put it down.

I am someone who enjoys reading things that have to do with mystery and crime and this book is just that. At a young age, main character Cupcake is forced into foster care due to the death of her mother. Little did she know that this would lead to a life of drugs, alcohol, prostitution, and theft.

The gruesome stories that she shares make me want to close the book shut and never open it again but also keep the book open, turn the pages, and never put it down.

Her experiences are horrific and it is often difficult to continue reading about the terrible life of a young girl but I turn every page with hope, knowing that reality can be harsh.

I would recommend this book to young adults but not children. There are cuss words and illicit drugs but being that it is a memoir, everything is true. It is important to understand the circumstances in which some people live in. The memoir was once part of the New York Times best sellers and it is read by many.

There has been word of a sequel to the novel but not much has been said about it. And as for a movie, there has been no word but she has been featured on many talk shows to share her book and her story.

The overall message of the book is to show people how to turn life around and make the best with what you have.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page