top of page

Sevdaliza Creates Political Message Through Music


Sevda Alizadeh (born 1 September 1987), known professionally as Sevdaliza, is an Iranian-Dutch singer, songwriter and producer.

In 2015, she released two extended plays, The Suspended Kid and Children of Silk. Her debut album, ISON, was released on 26 April 2017.

I cannot compare her music to anything else because she is so artistically herself. Every song tells a story, with some sort of bass drop that blows my mind. I truly believe that no matter your current musical preference, as long as you like amazing vocals and instrumental that develops and changes, you can find at least one song that speaks to you.

The production of her music is breathtaking, so I hope you have good headphones or speakers. Sevdaliza also creates music videos that, add a new artistic depth to her music. This link will take you to a minute interview with Sevdaliza about her musical journey and how her Iranian heritage influences her. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qTwIZzSOc_U

Sevdaliza has released ‘Bebin’, a new track written in Farsi. It is a response to Donald Trump’s recent ban on citizens from seven different Muslim-majority country entering the United States. Among those countries is Iran, where she was born.

“In protest of the inhumane political climate, I could not rest my head in privilege. I wrote ‘Bebin’ in Farsi, to solidify. I stand strong with love. In this case I choose to avoid mainstream media, because I have no interest in partaking in a victimized concept. As I will not be able to travel to the United States for indefinite duration, take this without lights, camera, action. I am solely a messenger. In the brain of love, there is no place for racism nor bigotry.” -Sevdaliza


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page