top of page

Aurora Soccer Team is Killin' It

On their way to a district finals game this Saturday at 7:00, the 11-3-4 Greenmen have high spirits heading into it.

After a 4-3 overtime win against CVCA from a sudden-death goal by Senior Cade Huffman, the team has never felt better. For his first year on the soccer team, he has had quite the year.

“This is probably the best decision i’ve ever made, I wish I played all four years. It’s been a great experience opening me up to a lot of new people and allowing me to make new friends. It has also made me realize that I should follow my passions and what I want to do, and not be scared to try something new,” said Cade Huffman.

Lead by 12 seniors: Mike French, Dan French, Avery Mcmaster, Robby Albrecht, Cade Huffman, Nate Malinowski, Rees Jones, Cooper Devins, Andrew Sobodosh, Alec Besinger, Timmy Werfel, Ramy Hassan, the Greenmen have been setting records and taking names.

“In the four years I’ve played this could be the best team I’ve played with, we have the best chance to go far,” exclaimed Senior Mike French.

“This team, as a whole, is much greater than the sum of its parts. Our players are amazing,” described Senior Robby Albrecht.

Four seniors won 1st team all conference: Nate Malinowski, Mike French, Rees Jones, and Avery McMaster. Two seniors won honorable mention, Cade Huffman (this is his first year playing), and Alec Besinger. Robby Albrecht won 2nd team all conference, and Rees Jones won Portage County player of the year. Cooper Devins and Dan French won 1st and 2nd team Portage County, respectively. Last but not least Coach Bibza won Suburban League Coach of the Year.

“It’s awesome to be selected first-team my senior year,” said French.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to have played keeper and glad to have the defense in front of me that I do,” said Albrecht.

Come support the team in their district final game against Revere, the #1 ranked D2 team, as the Greenmen upset them this Saturday at 7:00 at Nordonia High School.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page