top of page

Aurora gymnastics team grows and finds success

For the past five years, Aurora’s gymnastics team had a mere two members, falling short of the four-member requirement for an official team. This year, however, it finally gained enough participants to establish a place for itself in competitions, with teammates Caeley Blechschmid, Corinne Henderson, Lauren Lubin, and Katie Zamary bringing an extensive combined experience to the gym.

Henderson, a current sophomore, has been a gymnast for seven years.

Henderson said, “I wanted to be a gymnast when I was younger but my mom didn't let me. In third grade she finally gave in and I loved it. I've done gymnastics ever since. I did club gymnastics in Twinsburg until high school gymnastics started.”

She considers her favorite event, the bars, the most difficult, and also enjoys floor routines.

When asked of the team’s progress, Senior Blechschmid said, “So far we have done pretty well. Corinne and I have placed individually in All Around (all the four events’ scores added together), Beam for Corinne, and Vault for myself. Also, Aurora placed third during the third meet of the season.”

The team’s success comes from hours of dedicated practice and competition.

“Competitions include many other schools,” said Blechschmid. “We practice with 8 other schools (although not all have full teams), and at meets there are typically three or more teams from elsewhere. Most meets are at West Geauga and last for three hours on school nights.” The girls typically have one to two meets per week.

Henderson said, “My relationship with my teammates is good. We are all really good friends especially because we're with each other 5 days of the week.”

“It is a very good program and I enjoy all the people who go there,” said Henderson, “It is nice because you get to know a lot of other people from different schools.”

Their competitors include Kenston, Twinsburg, Magnificot, and Walsh.

Blechschmid, the team’s sole senior, has been a gymnast for fourteen years, and her favorite event is the beam.

“My mom's goddaughter was training for the 2004 Olympics in gymnastics, which inspired my mom to put me and my sisters in the sport,” said Blechschmid.

Unfortunately, Blechschmid experienced a setback due to a hip injury last year which required surgery.

She said, “The hip surgery was from a tear in my hip from over use at gymnastics. I was out for 9 months, not including the slowly getting back into the skills and events.”

While working to overcome her injury, Blechschmid drew her strength from a fellow gymnast and role model. “Kerri Strug is a gymnast I've always looked up to. She was in the Olympics in 1996 and competed for her team after breaking her ankle. She was broken and in pain, but competed to complete her team score and not to let the other 6 teammates down.”

Blechschmid might participate in club gymnastics during college, depending on which university she decides to attend.

The team’s next meet is Thursday, February 9 at 6:30 p.m. at West Geauga High School. Go support Greenmen gymnastics!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page