top of page

Aurora Service Learning trip is rewarding for students

On Wednesday, Dec 7th, students from the Aurora Service Learning classes had the opportunity to get out of school- and to make a difference.

The classes had the opportunity to go to Urban Community School in Cleveland and help underprivileged students there pick out presents for their families.

Citing her inspiration for the trip, Foster said that she and fellow teacher Mike Rubin thought that it would be a “nice way to end the semester by bringing the 2 classes together to serve others as a culminating event.”

One student who went on the trip, Junior Kaleen Girman, commented that she went “for the experience, and to get a feel for how fortunate [Aurora students really are].”

“I know a lot of kids were under the poverty line,” she said of the community that the class had the opportunity to serve, “and all of the presents they could pick were generous donations from the church, so I was curious to see how it all worked.”

“Feedback from the students was that it was very rewarding,” noted Foster. “...The school and church were very appreciate of our service. The students were mentors to the children as they selected gifts and helped them wrap the gifts. We helped over 100 students [through our service].”

Another student who attended, Junior Carolyn Hurley, said that the children and their demonstrations of their holiday spirit are what made the trip rewarding for her.

“The smiles and joy on the children's faces made it even more inspiring and enjoyable,” she said. “I learned just how lucky I was as a child and it also made me think about all of the children who don’t have these workshops during the holidays or at any time.”

Explaining one of the experiences that made the trip impactful for her, Girman agreed, saying, “One little girl that I had held my hand while we picked out presents, and she said that she liked shopping today because I was with her and it was heartwarming to hear. Another one I was able to shop with felt guilty making the present to her and from her, because all of them get a gift for themselves, so when Carolyn and I wrote the name tag we made it from us and the angels and it made her really happy.”

Both students agreed; they would certainly go on the trip again.

“I definitely would [do this again],” said Hurley. “I belong to Holy Angels Church, and for some reason, my family and I have never been, but I will definitely continue to go if they keep the workshop each year and I will bring my family.”

Echoing her classmate, Girman responded that she would choose to go again “in a heartbeat.”

Both students also advocate for future students taking the opportunity to join the Aurora Service Learning class.

“I greatly enjoy being a part of the Aurora Service Learning class,” said Hurley. “It still amazes me and makes me so happy that we even offer it and if I could, I would definitely take it again. I feel as though it should be a class all students are required to join; however, that may also take out the true and genuine meaning behind the class.”

Sharing this statement, Girman mentioned that “[Aurora Service Learning is] all student run, so you really feel like you are making a difference. When you leave the class, you actually took something out of it and learned how to help others and make a change.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page