top of page

Emily Keller commits to run track at University of Mount Union

Senior Emily Keller recently decided to run track at the collegiate level for The University of Mount Union. Keller has been running track and cross country since she was in 7th grade. Over the years her passion for running has grown leading her to pursue an athletic career at the next level.

Throughout Keller’s years of hard work and dedication her Dad has been the one motivating her along the way. Keller said, “My dad mainly helped and inspired me throughout my whole high school career. He has been my personal coach through everything and I could not have done it without him.”

Keller has devoted a majority of her high school experience to being involved in cross country and track. She devoted many weekdays and weekends to participating in cross country/track meets. Keller advises younger athletes, “I would say to always work your hardest in every aspect of your sport. Never give up and always give your best effort. Never give anything but your best even if it is just a small workout because every time you workout, you are getting closer to your goal.”

Keller explains her fondest memory while participating in track. “My greatest memory was getting 5 feet in high jump for the first time. Coach Dingman and my dad were so happy for me and my high jump career was just beginning to start,” said Keller.

During a track meet at Mount Union, Keller became interested in attending the school. Keller explained, “I first became interested in Mount Union when I went to an indoor meet there my Junior year. The Mount Union coaches watched me and talked to me about competing in college and have kept in touch ever since. The coaches have been amazing and extremely helpful throughout this whole process.

Keller is eager to start her athletic career at MU and meet fellow track athletes. “I look forward to being part of this team because they are very competitive and have been doing fantastic for the past few years. It is exciting to be a part of a good, successful team. Also, I look forward to going into college belonging to a team. It will be good to go in with the support of my teammates who can help me through all my new college experiences,” said Keller.

The University of Mount Union is a Division III school which means they can not give athletic scholarships to students. However, they helped Keller tremendously financially which is another reason she will attend.

AHS looks forward to cheering Keller on in her final track season at Aurora and her future career at Mount Union.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page