top of page

Senior AJ Kimes commits to University of Dayton to play baseball


Over the past few years, the Aurora High School baseball team has had numerous players further their career on the collegiate level; AJ Kimes is no exception. Recently, Kimes has committed to play for the University of Dayton Baseball Team post graduation.

Kimes’s passion for the sport blossomed at a young age. He states, “I was about 3 when I first started to play baseball. Coaching me from an early age, my dad inspired me to pursue my career through his continuous support and guidance.”

Over the years, Kimes has played on a variety of teams ranging from little leagues to travel programs, further honing his skills on the field.

Once in high school, Kimes excelled on and off the field. He retells his most vivid memory thus far in his high school career: “My greatest memory in high school baseball was pitching in the state final four game. More specifically, I remember finishing the first inning of the game and running back to the dugout realizing how many people came to support us. Seeing my family and friends gave me the motivation to play my hardest and to try and take home a win.”

Now a senior, Kimes had numerous role models and leaders throughout his career, and he attributes his success to teammates and coaches. In particular, AHS Alumni Carter Semancik had a major influence on Kimes’s career.

“He was a much better pitcher than me and I always worked to match his prestige. He pushed me to get better everyday, and we became really good friends. It won’t be the same this season playing without him,” Kimes states.

Now set on the future, Kimes eagerly looks forward to playing at the University of Dayton. Between the coaching staff, players, and practice facilities, it has become a dream come true.

UD coaches approached Kimes early on in his high school career. Kimes recalls, “The coaches saw me throw in a tournament in Atlanta, Georgia and they told me to send him an email. Now a committed Flyer, I look forward to having a great bond with my teammates and working towards a national championship!”

Although Kimes is preparing for college ball, he still has his senior season here at AHS. To all incoming freshmen and future teammates, he encourages them, “To work hard and when you think you have done all you can, do more. There is always room for improvement.”

Kimes is currently waiting to hear from the college for the specifics of his scholarship.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page